Archdiocese of Chicago Locators: Parishes | Elementary Schools | High Schools | Cemeteries
:: News and Events

Fifteen Men Ordained as Deacons

Francis Cardinal George, OMI, Archbishop of Chicago, has ordained fifteen men as permanent deacons. The Diaconate ordination took place on Sunday, May 23, at Holy Name Cathedral in Chicago.

The newly ordained deacons completed a four-year program at the University of Saint Mary of the Lake / Mundelein Seminary that included classes in Theology, Pastoral Ministry, Spiritual Formation and Communication/Collaboration. They will serve in their home parishes in Chicago, Arlington Heights, Chicago Heights, Matteson, Mundelein, Niles, Oak Forest, Oak Lawn, Orland Park, Palos Hills, Streamwood, Wadsworth and Winnetka.

Between 95 and 96 percent of deacons are married with families and most are also engaged in outside occupations. They are clergy, along with priests and bishops. The ministries that Deacons perform include the teaching mission of the Church, caring for the poor, performing baptisms and marriages, conducting funeral liturgies, presiding at wake services and assisting the priest at Mass by proclaiming the Gospel, preaching, leading intercessions, preparing the altar and intoning the dismissal.


  1. Thomas E. Adams will serve at St. Patrick Parish, 15000 Wadsworth Road, Wadsworth.
  2. Gregory M. Beeber will serve at St. Edna Parish, 2525 North Arlington Heights Road, Arlington Heights.
  3. Robert R. Cislo will serve at St. Linus Parish, 10300 South Lawler Avenue, Oak Lawn.
  4. William A. Doerr will serve at St. Lawrence O'Toole Parish, 4101 Saint Lawrence Avenue, Matteson.
  5. Guy J. Grabiec will serve at St. Damian Parish, 5300 West 155th Street, Oak Forest.
  6. Gerald M. Keenan will serve at Sacred Heart Parish, 1077 Tower Road, Winnetka.
  7. David J. Keene will serve at St. Josaphat Parish, 2311 North Southport Avenue, Chicago.
  8. Mariusz J. Kosla will serve at St. John Brebeuf Parish, 8307 North Harlem Avenue, Niles.
  9. Gary L. Kupsak will serve at St. Mary of the Annunciation Parish, 22333 West Erhart Road, Mundelein.
  10. Jozef S. Mika will serve at St. John the Evangelist Parish, 502 South Park Boulevard, Streamwood.
  11. Robert F. Morris II will serve at St. Cajetan Parish, 2443 West 112th Street, Chicago.
  12. Michael J. Pindelski will serve at St. Francis of Assisi Parish, 15050 South Wolf Road, Orland Park.
  13. Thomas J. Rzendzian will serve at Sacred Heart Parish, 8245 West 111th Street, Palos Hills.
  14. William Smyser will serve at St. Aloysius Parish, 2300 West Le Moyne Street, Chicago.
  15. Emil C. Vasek will serve at St. Kieran Parish, 724 West 195th Street, Chicago Heights.

More information about the Archdiocese of Chicago’s Deacon Formation Program can be found at

Return to Top